Truro Cathedral Music


Christopher Gray - Director of Music and OrganistThe Organist and Director of Music at Truro Cathedral is Christopher Gray (left). 

Each year an Organ Scholar is appointed. This year's Organ Scholar is Kathe Kaufman.

Simon Jacobs is helping out at the moment.

This team is responsible for making music happen at the Cathedral:

  • Daily rehearsal and training of the girl and boy choristers
  • Planning of all the service music
  • Directing and accompanying the daily services
  • Overseeing the administration of the music department

In addition, the Cathedral’s musicians are responsible for recruiting boys and men for the cathedral choir, for planning recording projects and tours and arranging concerts in the cathedral and around the diocese.

Christopher Gray is the tenth organist of Truro Cathedral.  Before him were G R Sinclair 1881-1890 (later organist of Hereford Cathedral), M J Monk 1890-1920, H S Middleton 1920-1926 (later organist of Ely Cathedral and Trinity College, Cambridge), John Dykes Bower 1926-1929 (later organist of New College, Oxford, Durham Cathedral and St Paul’s Cathedral), Guillaume Ormond 1929-1970, John Winter 1971-1988 (Organist Emeritus), David Briggs 1989-1994 (later organist of Gloucester Cathedral and now International Concert Organist) and Andrew Nethsingha 1994-2002 (now Director of Music at St John's College, Cambridge), Robert Sharpe 2002-2008 (now Director of Music at York Minster).