The Sixteen: Choral Pilgrimage 2019

The 2019 Choral Pilgrimage brings together music past and present, highlighting The Sixteen’s choral journey over the last 40 years. The close relationship with Sir James MacMillan continues with a new commission O virgo prudentissima, contrasted with music by Fayrfax performed on their very first recording, alongside music by Wylkynson and Sheppard. These fine examples of English polyphony are juxtaposed with stunning music by Tavener and Eric Whitacre in their 40th anniversary year.

Tickets £10-30 (discounts available) from the Sixteen Box Office on 0333 010 2850 or and from 01872 262466.



The Sixteen

Harry Christophers

Eamonn Dougan conductor (for selected performances)


Plainsong Salve Regina

Tavener Hymn to the Mother of God

Sheppard ‘Gloria’ from Cantate Mass

Eric Whitacre Sainte-Chapelle

Wylkynson Salve Regina a9

Fayrfax Aeternae laudis lilium

Gabriel Jackson Ave Maria

Tavener Hymn for the Dormition of the Mother of God

James MacMillan O virgo prudentissima (new commission)

Sheppard ‘Agnus Dei’ from Cantate Mass