Cathedral Timeline

1259 St Mary’s Church consecrated by Bishop Bronescombe of Exeter during a tour of Cornwall

1504 St Mary’s church re-built in the Gothic style

1768 St Mary’s church re-built in a Georgian style

1876 The Cornish Diocese of Truro formed. St Mary’s becomes the cathedral church

1880 May 29 Foundation Stones of the cathedral laid by Edward, the Prince of Wales, Duke of Cornwall. Work starts on the cathedral under John Loughborough Pearson.
St Mary’s church closed and replaced by a temporary church. The south aisle becomes incorporated into the new cathedral as St Mary’s aisle

1882 Bishop Benson leaves Truro to become Archbishop of Canterbury

1887 Consecration of the Quire and Transepts by the Prince of Wales/Duke of Cornwall. Building work ceased

1898 Work re-commenced under Frank Pearson

1903 Dedication of the Nave

1904 Main tower and spire completed

1908 Foundation stone of the Old Cathedral School is laid

1910 Dedication of the Western Towers. Effective completion of the cathedral

1935 Dedication of the North door into the North transept

1967 Completion of the Chapter House 

1987 Completion of the Cathedral Shop

2002 Refurbishment of the Cathedral Restaurant

2005 125th Anniversary of the laying of the Foundation Stones

2005 Restoration of the West Front

2010 Restoration of the central tower

2015 Re-slating of the roof on the high-level western arm

2017 Re-slating of the roof on the South Nave Aisle, Baptistry and Narthex

 2018 The Old Cathedral School re-opens as the Cathedral Office and education centre